top of page

Life in Tanzania - Cities of Dodoma & Dar es Salaam

Life in Tanzania - Cities of Dodoma & Dar es Salaam, History, People, Lifestyle, Traditions & Music: Tanganyika and Zanzibar united on 26th April 1964, forming the United Republic of Tanzania.

Tanganyika became independent from the British on December 1961 and Zanzibar became free through a revolution on 12th January 1964. The United Republic of Tanzania is an East African country bordering the Indian Ocean. Its neighbors are Kenya and Uganda, to the north, Rwanda, Burundi and Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the west, and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south. The current population of the United Republic of Tanzania is 64,745,038. The city of Dodoma is considered the official capital of Tanzania, but Dar es Salaam remains the political and business center of the country. Tanzania is an East African country known for its vast wilderness areas. They include the plains of Serengeti National Park, a safari mecca populated by the “big five” game (elephant, lion, leopard, buffalo, rhino), and Kilimanjaro National Park, home to Africa’s highest mountain. Offshore lie the tropical islands of Zanzibar, with Arabic influences, and Mafia, with a marine park home to whale sharks and coral reefs. The politics of Tanzania takes place in a framework of a unitary presidential democratic republic, whereby the President of Tanzania is both head of state and head of government, and of a multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government.Samia Suluhu Hassan is a Tanzanian politician who has been serving since 19 March 2021 as the sixth and first female president of Tanzania and the third female head of government of an East African country. Tanzania's principal exports are gold, coffee, cashew nuts, and cotton.The Tanzanian Shilling is the official currency of Tanzania, but US dollars are also widely accepted in tourist areas. Early in the history of the nation, kiSwahili was designated as an official language of Tanzania by first President Julius Nyerere as part of his Ujamaa social policy. Currently, English and kiSwahili are the official languages of the country.

Please kindly subscribe to our channel @AfriCultureChronicles for more positive insight into Africa cultural stories and mesmerizing adventures. Also follow our socials:- Instagram: @africulture_chronicles Facebook: @africulturechronicles TikTok: @africulture_chronicles Pinterest: @africulturechronicles To learn more about African Culture, Lifestyle, Fashion & Travel please visit our website at WWW.AFRICULTURECHRONICLES.COM


bottom of page